fbpx

Bradford Young Writers

During Covid-19 Lockdown, Young Writers will be going digital! Due to the nature of these new arrangements, we sadly will not be taking on any new members. For current members, you will receive an email with instructions of how to join in digitally this term.

Ilkley Literature Festival runs a group for young writers in Year 8 to Year 13, on Mondays.

This Summer Term sessions will run from 6.00pm to 7.30pm. You’ll be expected to attend all 10 sessions in the term (unless of course you are ill) and there will be a mixture of lots of fun writing activities including short story writing, script writing, writing poetry and learning how to read and perform your work.

Bradford Young Writers is run by Ilkley Literature Festival and led by Michelle Scalley Clarke, author, playwright, performer, creative writing and performance facilitator and will also be joined this term by Sai Murray, writer, poet, performance and graphic artist of Bajan/Afrikan/English heritage.

In addition to the sessions, the Bradford Young Writers also host their own Open Mic nights to perform and share their work and regularly appear at Ilkley Literature Festival. They’ve taken part in the Leeds poetry slam at the West Yorkshire Playhouse, been on a residential with the Brontë Parsonage, had their work published, appeared on BBC Radio 4 and East Leeds FM;  reviewed events and interviewed authors, including the Poet Laureate, Carol Ann Duffy, and members of the group have been picked for the Writing Squad, been commended in the Foyle Young Poets competition and won the Young Historical Novelists Award. And in their spare time some members of the group have gone inter railing around Europe together!

Our term dates for Summer 2020 are:

  • Mon 27 April

  • Mon 4 May

  • Mon 11 May

  • Mon 18 May

  • Mon 25 May – No SESSION due to public holiday
  • Mon 1 June

  • Mon 8 June

  • Mon 15 June

  • Mon 22 June

  • Mon 29 June

  • Mon 6 July

Event Details