The winners of each competition, plus runners up and commended writers will be invited to read at the Festival in October 2018.

In brief

  • Entries can be on any subject
  • Poems should be not more than 30 lines
  • Closing date for receipt of entries: Wednesday 01 August 2018
  • Prize winners will be notified by Thursday 27 September 2018


The entry fee is £5 per entry (you can send as many entries as you like) payable online or by cheque made out to ‘Ilkley Literature Festival’.

Non-UK Residents are welcome to enter the competitions but entries from overseas can only be submitted online (see below)

Walter Swan Trust Poetry PrizeWalter Swan Trust

1st Prize         £200

2nd Prize         £100

3rd Prize          £75

Judge: Imtiaz Dharker

Click here to download the entry form and rules


Short Story Competition


1st Prize         £200

Judge: Nikesh Shukla

Click here to download the entry form and rules

Online Submissions

Entries for both competitions can now be submitted online via Submittable.

Please download and read the full competition rules (available above) before submitting online.